Fire Breathing: NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in DRAGON GIRL

Fire Breathing: NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in DRAGON GIRL

I’m sure you were skeptical about whether or not I was actually going to A) rock a red lip and B) actually leave the house with said red lip intact. So was I actually. But I’m doing new things, so I did it and guess what? I EFFING LOVE IT. 

Today, I’m a more openly kick ass little mama and I’ve got a smokin’ lip color as backup. 

I contemplated wearing the Stila red, but I’ll reserve that for another time because I am now hooked on a bold lip and will be wearing it at all (appropriate, I promise) opportunities. 

Peep the red lip goodness that is NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dragon Girl:

Bold? Check. Cute? Double Check. Saucy? TRIPLE, QUADRUPLE Check. 

Here’s my mini review of the lip pencil: IT’S AWESOME. It is a matte formula, but it’s not a heavy duty matte formula that makes your lips feel like chalk has taken up permanent residence on or in your mouth. 

I exfoliated only 10 minutes before (I know, I know, I should’ve done it last night) but it still looks great. I used a standard DIY recipe: a bit of sugar, a bit of honey and instead of using petroleum jelly, I used Waxelene (a petro jelly alternative).  I’ll review Waxelene on another post. (Wow, these post promises are adding up huh?) and Voila! Soft lips, ready for matte greatness. 

The pencil was $24 at Sephora and it’s worth every flippin’ dime, so just suck it up and spend the $$ (DISCLAIMER: disposable cash that is!! I DO NOT condone getting into debt over any products that are NOT essentially medically necessary, smart gals like us try to spend, save and invest wisely after all remember?) 

I’m plotting my next shade of these out of this world pencils.  Probably something soft, cute and pink, and something not-so-soft, cute and FUSCHIA! Whoo! ;)

Check back for tomorrow’s look and musings…

xo-Layla 

Leave a Reply

