Giving Good Base: Selecting My Everyday Go-To Foundation

Giving Good Base: Selecting My Everyday Go-To Foundation

foundation-makeup

It happens every other year at least…I can expect to have to think about it the same time I start to think about my taxes. Foundation.  Either I have to change my shade (lighter in the winter, darker in the summer) or I have to change formulas (heavier in the winter, lighter in the summer)

So here we are again, almost smack into winter and I’m on the hunt. And by hunt, I mean HUNT.  I’ve tried three (3) different ones in the past month alone: Benefit’s Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup in Hazelnut and Nutmeg and CoverGirl Queen Collection Stay Flawless All Day 3-in-1 Liquid Makeup in Sheer Espresso. These foundations weren’t bad but they just weren’t…well,right. Mostly because the shades were off. I’ll do a full review of these in the coming weeks.

Since this will be my go-to foundation I’ve decided I just have to put in the time and do the search as thoroughly as possible. There were a lot of products I was able to rule out just from watching a few YouTube reviews and reading some Sephora.com comments, so thankfully I won’t be searching as long as I originally thought.

I’ve narrowed my search down to two (2) brands: MAC and Clinique.  I LOVE both of these brands for various and sometimes overlapping reasons.  MAC has an amazing range of shades and formulas, while Clinique has great formulas and is a brand that gets the added benefit of the trust factor, as their products are all allergy-free (even if one product tester has one reaction, they start all over again!)

In my late teen years, I used Clinique’s Superbalanced Makeup and Stay Matte Sheer Pressed Powder. I have no complaints. They’re both great products and sheer (but buildable) coverage that leave you looking incredibly flawless.

In my early twenties, I started to switch it up a bit because I had been hearing so many great things about MAC, especially their shade and color ranges.  What I love about MAC is their ability to create a color that you had no clue you ever need, but suddenly it’s on your most coveted list and you won’t stop until you’ve got it, wrapped in that signature sleek black packaging.  In my head, MAC is like sitting at the cafeteria table with all the cool kids who are incredibly talented in the arts and give you the sense of worldliness that you could only imagine in your wildest “when I grow up” dreams.

Alas, I am that girl, who plays it (mostly, almost always) safe so I will return to Clinique and its faithful shade matches and formulas. My skin will return to looking healthy for the most part while I get my act together in the other areas of skin care (SPF, masks, eye treaments, etc.)

Of course, I am woman, therefore I am subject to all manner of mind changing so we shall see what I end up finally landing on.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

