Rejuvenating As A Rule

Rejuvenating As A Rule

spa picture

 

No post about makeup tonight.  Just thoughts.  I don’t relax well. In fact, I hate it. It feels like I’m being an unproductive waste of space. Harsh? Maybe. But I like to be busy–in the pursuit of meaningful accomplishment.  It’s in my DNA. Here’s the catch: all work, grind and no play for balance means you’re liable to you will shut down.

Maybe not abruptly…perhaps it’ll be a slow chug-a-chug kind of winding down but eventually the car that is you will run out of gas and you’ll be down for the count until you can recharge enough to leave the couch for a day. Sounds miserable and scary right?

No need to worry. You can protect yourself against stress, run down and potential burn out by being more intentional about building a life/work/play balance. Sure we have loved ones–and they’re great– but we can’t depend on others to make sure we’re always at our best possible at any given time. It’s up to us girls! (and gents!!)

And you want to know something else? It’s okay to treat, indulge and take care ourselves. We don’t need to neglect responsibilities to do so, we should absolutely be smart about it, but when it is time to pamper and nuture ourselves, we should do so with all the enthusiasm and genuine optimism and happiness we can muster and dump the guilt immediately.

Of course, I can’t tell you to take advice that I haven’t taken myself, right? Duh. So I booked myself a nice little spa day to take place in January, once the hectic year of 2013 has wrapped up and the new busy of 2014 has just begun. I think it’s perfect timing. I’ll have my first facial (so exciting!), get a lovely manicure and soothing pedicure and rest. I’ll exhale and feel every breath and take a moment to listen to my heartbeat and the sounds of my environment.  I’ll stay overnight and cuddle with a nice cup of tea that I’ve never tried before and a suspenseful thriller.

You don’t have to book a spa day per se, but go ahead and buy yourself an at home spa kit complete with a sheet mask, a new nail polish, manicure tools, body scrub, etc. and take your time giving yourself some TLC.

Your mind, body and spirit will thank you. And so will your loved ones. You’ll be a better you, that’s a win-win for everyone!!

I’d love to hear your favorite at home spa treatments. Tell me in the comments below!

xo, Layla

 

 

Leave a Reply

