Review: Revlon “Girly” Nail Lacquer and Rimmel London Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara

Review: Revlon “Girly” Nail Lacquer and Rimmel London Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara

I wish I could love all beauty products that I try, but sadly that’s not always the case. These two products don’t make the “Keep” bin–not even close.

First up, Revlon’s Nail Lacquer in Girly.

revlon girly

Revlon’s nail polish is usually total hit or miserable miss for me so I’m not too surprised that I’m not in love with the formula or the color payoff but I really didn’t think I’d hate it as much as I do. I’m almost annoyed by it’s horrible job and feel that it’s not worth the space it takes up on the shelves. The only I can see loving this would be to time travel back to my pre-teen days when I had nothing but time to play with adding layers upon layers of nail polish and could get away with the clear base, sort of sparkly glitter flecks. Yes, flecks not chunks like they appear in the bottle. In fact, the whole polish appears differently in the bottle. The lavender base colors appears as though it would apply more opaquely–not the case at all. After two coats, it barely shows up, base and glitter equally. If adding a creamier base color and using “Girly” as a topper seems appealing to you, you may have a better experience. Sorry Revlon, but I am not in love.

Now…onto Rimmel London’s Scandaleyes Retro GlamΒ Mascara…

Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Mascara

I received this in my Influenster VoxBox a few months ago. Fair warning: this tube is very big. You’ll need lots of room in your makeup bag–so much room that you may have to edit one or two (maybe three?) products out. First strike. I love the concept and intention behind this brush but the execution is poor at best. The brush itself is a great shape, but it’s a tad too big to pump up sparse lashes (like mine.)Β  I do like how the formula distributes evenly but it’s not enough for me to put up with its other shortcomings. The color payoff is on par with other brands. I’ve heard great things about Rimmel’s line of mascaras so I haven’t completely written them off but this one is NOT a home run. If you have fuller lashes or wear falsies on a daily or even semi-regular basis, then go ahead and give it a whirl, you shouldn’t be disappointed with this product all. For everyone else, keep walking by this one in the aisle and spend the money on a old favorite or something new that’s less likely to make you wrinkle your nose in disappointment and a tad bit of disgust.

I hate to be harsh but when you spend your hard earned money on anything, beauty products especially, you want to know that you’ll have at least a decent chance to getting what you think you’re paying for. Money doesn’t come easily enough to try everything and just toss away whatever doesn’t work out on a regular basis. Save those moments for things you’re really after and are willing to take the (calculated) risk on.

And as always, please remember that these are my personal opinions based on my own experiences. My perspective is only given with the best of intent–to help you navigate smartly :)

Later my loves.

xo, Layla

 

One thought on “Review: Revlon “Girly” Nail Lacquer and Rimmel London Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara

Leave a Reply

