Review: Clinique Stay Matte Oil-Free Makeup

Review: Clinique Stay Matte Oil-Free Makeup

clinique stay matte clove

 

Happy New Year!! 2014 has FINALLY arrived and I’m thrilled.

There’s a ‘but’…isn’t there always?? I hate to start the year off with a not-so-great review, but sometimes these things can’t be controlled.

Trust me. This will hurt me WAY more than it hurts you…so let’s just hurry up and pull off the band-aid.

I tried Clinique’s Stay Matte Oil-Free Makeup in the shade Clove on Monday. As always when I’m testing a new foundation, I don’t use anything beyond my skincare, this means no primers, or anything else with mattifying properties. I didn’t even powder it after application. To be fair, I did get the wrong shade. Typically with Clinique my shade is Amber but for whatever reason Clove looked to be spot on, so that particular fail is entirely on me.

Here’s what Clinique says about Stay Matte:

“Tested for streaking and fading at 88°F with a constant 80% humidity, all to prove Stay-Matte stays fresh. At the same time, this patent-pending formula absorbs shine, controls oil, resists sweat. And you stay matte all day.”

First things first: applying the foundation was not easy, not even a little bit. The texture is thick and creamy and did not leave the sample jar easily. Once I got enough product onto the back of my hand it was difficult to get onto my face and spread it evenly, in spite of having the help of a stipple and traditional foundation brush. So, if you do end up trying this, just remember to have sponges on hand before you even start.

I applied the foundation at 7:50 am and checked it at midday, 3 pm and did a final check at 8 pm. I have to say that before I even left the house at 8:10, my nose area was already oily. Okay fine, there are worse things and luckily a blotting paper took care of that right away. (This, by the way, was the only time that I used a blotting paper the whole day) At all the checkpoints my skin was visibly oily and by 8 pm it looked like I had put butter on my face to melt. Wasn’t a pretty sight at all and I was quite embarrassed.

I’m usually a big fan of Clinique foundations but this disappointed big time. I will give it a 2 out of 5 rating and that’s simply because of the range of shades they have available for this particular product.

Sadly, I won’t be purchasing a full size of this particular formula. Instead, I’ll be sticking to my old faithful Superbalanced in my equally faithful shade, Amber.

Have you tried this foundation? What was your experience? Let me know in the comments!

xo, Layla

 

Leave a Reply

