Product Reviews: L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Concealers

Product Reviews: L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Concealers

loreal true match concealer cool 6-7-8-

Happy Saturday my glossies! How are you enjoying the first weekend of 2014? Personally, I’m still inside, not yet ready to face the aftermath of Winter Storm Hercules. Instead I’ve been hiding out and giving myself at home spa treatments, a quick foot exfoliation, and later I’ll be scrubbing my face clean of winter grime and assessing my progress on Operation: Great Skin. Which brings me to the topic of this post…concealers. The almighty cover ups, the holy grails of blemish cover up, etc. The right concealer can be a dream come true and inspire confidence in the most right of times.

First up: L’Oreal’s True Match Super-Blendable Concealer in the shade Cool 6-7-8. Let’s not beat around the bush here. I LOVE this product. I’ve been eyeing it for a long time–at least a year and have asked friends for their opinions and they’ve always said it was great, especially for a drug store offering but every time I would see them in the aisles the colors and consistency never seem quite right. So a couple of weeks ago, I took the plunge and purchased this product along with some other L’Oreal products. I’m really glad I decided to try this product. I was completely wrong about the shade match and consistency. In fact, I feel like L’Oreal is underselling this concealer. To me this shade also has a color correcting quality to it as it contains a hint of peach. I’ve also heard others with fairer and deeper skin say they felt the same way. The consistency is spot on. You can really see the R&D payoff in the way this concealer applies and dries down. The texture from the bottle that includes a doe foot applicator, which is perfect for under eyes) is creamy and thick, but not so thick that it’s hard to spread and blend. It dries down to a sheer powder like consistency. The dry down reminds me of MAC’s Select Cover Up. I’m not sure about others, but this concealer also has a brightening effect on my under eye area. Absolutely love this. Classes start again on Monday and I can already tell that this will be a staple, holy grail product for me as I’m sure it’ll come through for me when I need to cover up long nights of assignments and studying, etc.

Next, let’s talk about another concealer in L’Oreal’s True Match Super-Blendable line–their concealer crayon (see below):

loreal true match concealer crayon medium deep n6-7-8

 

I’ve purchased this product quite a while ago–almost this time last year actually. Bottom line: I like the idea and the consistency (it’s powdery and light) but the shade offerings are not up to par for me. I purchased the neutral offering of the darkest range they had, which was Medium/Deep N6-7-8. This product was too light for me and ending up looking ashy and chalky–not good for under eye (or any other) area. I want to look as naturally flawless as possible and this gives away my complexion secrets right away. I hate to toss this, but I can’t even see any other use for this. I tried to use it as a highlighter–that was a certain NO-GO. If you have fairer skin, however, I would try this product. It’s seems like it’d be a great, easy to tote cover up. Perfect for on-the-go, just throw it in your makeup bag or purse and you’re good to go always.

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to the days when I only need to use concealer for the one off breakout and not for every day coverage to be presentable, but in the interim, I’m glad I found a product that works.

What about you lovely people? What cover up do you use?

Talk to me!

Until next time…

xo, Layla

3 thoughts on “Product Reviews: L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Concealers

Leave a Reply

