Product Review: Weleda Skin Food

Product Review: Weleda Skin Food

Weleda Skin Food
Weleda Skin Food

Wintertime is definitely getting the best of my skin. This has been the worst winter for my skin so far, and I feel for it. I mean seriously: I’ve been moisturizing double and triple time and there are still stubborn dry patches.

I’ve heard about Weleda’s Skin Food for a while, and I hear it’s a great favorite of none other than Julia Roberts, so while shopping at my local co-op I decided to just pick it up and give it a try. What the heck right? I picked up the smallest bottle my store had available: 1 fl. oz. and it retailed for about $11.99.

My first impression of this was entirely about its smell: it has a semi strong scent of herbs and hemp. If you’re used to slathering your moisturizer on, the smell may be a huge turn off as it gets stronger if you squeeze a lot of product out (duh, I know, but I felt I had to say it anyway)

Weleda says that Skin Food is “for dry and rough skin such as on hands, feet, and elbows.” This is a very thick moisturizer so I would stick to its intended use to a T, otherwise you’re almost guaranteeing your personal disappointment.

I especially use it on my elbows and it works wonders. It clears my dry patches right away and locks the moisture (via essential fatty acids and Vitamin E) in all day and night. I don’t have to reapply until my next shower, and even then it’s never as dry as it was before my first use.

Overall, I like this product. The only downside is the smell but I can get over it: it goes away pretty quickly.

I’d give this product a thumbs up.

If you’re experiencing really dry hands, feet and/or elbows: I would definitely give this a whirl.

xo, Layla

Leave a Reply

