A Match Made in Heaven: Sephora + Pantone Color IQ

A Match Made in Heaven: Sephora + Pantone Color IQ

Hi guys! xx

It’s been much too long since we last had a chat, grab a snack. Let’s gab.

So, if you’ve been reading this blog at all you know that there are two things I struggle with all the time: my skin and my foundation color match. I’ve been really working on trying to get these two things right and let me tell you, it’s been rough. Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago when on a little break from a work trip, I pop into Sephora at Columbus Circle. I went in knowing that I wanted to be color matched but couldn’t remember the fabulous tool I had heard that Sephora and Pantone teamed up to bring us. Picture it: I’m standing in the middle of the floor, stammering to the poor saleswoman when something I garbled must’ve clicked for her and she says “Color IQ?” *cue all of the cherubs and harp music*

Okay, Layla you hear angelic music in a beauty store, what’s new? I know, I know. I’m getting to it. In case you haven’t heard of the Sephora + Pantone Color IQ tool, you’ll be pleasantly surprised. It’s a handheld gadget that when placed gently over a few areas of your face can identify your (Pantone) Color IQ number and match you up with a few foundations based on the type of formula you ask for at the top of the service. GENIUS.

If you’re thinking you won’t find your match no matter what, I politely disagree with you. There are over 1,500 formulas in Color IQ’s database–your match is basically destined.

A couple of things:

  • If you’re germophobic (read: like me) you’ll be fine. My saleswoman very openly disinfected the tool with a sanitizing wipe. I’m not 100% sure but I think there is also a detachable plug in: think the casings they use for ear thermometers at your doctor’s office.
  • If you suffer from hyper pigmentation of any sort between your face and neck (read: also like me) then I suggest you also ask that the tool be run over the other area that you want matched. I did this and I feel my results were more accurate because of it.

In case you’re wondering, I asked for a medium coverage foundation. Between my face and my (darker) neck, here are my results (all of which can be purchased at Sephora):

Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation in Deep 74, $34
Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation in Deep 74, $34
Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Flawless Fluide in Pecan, $48
Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Flawless Fluide in Pecan, $48
Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15 in Golden, $27
Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15 in Golden, $27
Clinique Stay Matte Oil Free Makeup in Amber, $23
Clinique Stay Matte Oil Free Makeup in Amber, $23
Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation in (Shade) 10, $62
Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation in (Shade) 10, $62
Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Rich Chestnut 5C1, $37
Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Rich Chestnut 5C1, $37
Diorskin Nude Skin Glowing Makeup SPF 15 in Amber 063, $49
Diorskin Nude Skin Glowing Makeup SPF 15 in Amber 063, $49
Lancome Teint Visionnaire Skin Correcting Makeup Duo in 500 Suede W, $60
Lancome Teint Visionnaire Skin Correcting Makeup Duo in 500 Suede W, $60
Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF 15 in Warm Almond 6.5, $48
Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF 15 in Warm Almond 6.5, $48

See anything you want to try? Let me know in the comments below.

Until next chat–keep the snacks handy.

xo-Layla

Leave a Reply

