New in Stores: L’Oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor

New in Stores: L’Oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor

Cara Delevingne. Lily Collins. Joan Smalls. Anne Hathaway. Camila Alves. Hell, even Beyonce. Random? Nope. All these beautiful ladies have a particular facial characteristic that breeds envy for days. They give GOOD brow–no matter their difference in shape, color, or thickness. It’s just good. All. the. time.

“Fake it ’till you make it” works in a lot of situations so I figured why not for brows too right? Right. So begins the insane obsession with achieving my perfect brow. These days, my brows leave a lot to be desired. Due to the auto immune illness I have, I have already lost the hair on my head (save for a few spots) and my lashes are on their own weird little cycle (long and luscious for a few months, dismal and disappearing for others). But I could usually always count on my brows. Sadly, they need me to step in with whatever help I can provide.

I’ve tried a lot of things: pencils, powders, gels, waxes, DIY recipes and a fair amount of serums. I’ve learned a few things: pencils work best for me. Gels and waxes had better be sturdy or long wearing, otherwise they’d be gone from my face in hours due to my combination skin. Also, Jamaican Black Castor Oil helps a bit but smells awful. Still, I was determined to recreate the full, dark brown look that I naturally enjoyed when I was younger (we’re talking teens here.)

So imagine my delight when I see a display of new products and L’Oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor in Dark Brunette (365) proudly sitting under the brightest of lights. According to the packaging, this product is a precision tip crayon, soft brush tip and fixing wax all in one. Here’s what it looks like out of the package:

L'Oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor in Dark Brunette (365), $6.99 (drugstores)
L’Oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor in Dark Brunette (365), $6.99 (drugstores)

I really liked the idea of this: a pencil and filling crayon on one end and a finishing wax to hold your newly impeccable brow look in place all day. I had high hopes. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t meant to be. Now don’t get me wrong: this is a great product: if you have a decent amount of brow already. If you are like me and your brows are sparse or basically non-existent, you are likely to experience problems with this.

If you’re already blessed with good brow and are just looking for something to give you a more polished and/or amped up look, this is definitely your new (and quite affordable) beauty BFF. You basically can’t go wrong. The filling crayon is a great consistency: not too soft or hard and gives you control over how much color you want to deposit and where. And yes, the pigment is very buildable but you won’t have to spend hours in front of your mirror to achieve a strong look either. The brush is probably the super star though: it’s not too soft but it will not irritate or tug at your skin when you’re brushing. In fact, the brush is so good, I’m keeping the pencil just for the brush and actually using something else to create my brow look.

The finishing wax is…a finishing wax. Nothing extraordinary, but it will do the job. The only thing I’d say about this part of the pencil is that while you won’t see much of it, there will be a bit of color transfer from the filling crayon. Don’t freak out. Wipe it off or don’t–your call. And last but not least, for $6.99 (prices may vary depending on region and retailer) you get a good amount of product in this pencil that’s also small enough to pop in your cosmetic bag.

If you’re heading out the store, here’s what it looks like in the package. Remember to pay attention to the shade! Happy shopping.

L'oread Brow Stylist Sculptor in Dark Brunette (365)
L’oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor in Dark Brunette (365)

 

Have you tried this pencil? Got any brow tips? Comment below, I love to hear from you :)

 

Chat soon! xo-Layla

Leave a Reply

