New Season, New Products!

New Season, New Products!

I’m back! And more beauty obsessed than ever: I promise, it’s possible, and it’s happening. The addiction is real and I’m feeling like I should be attending meetings or something.

It’s been so long, let’s catch up! Between work and school I’ve still managed to collect quite a few new beauty treats. I’ve been scooping up a lot of lipsticks (I know: color. Who am I? What’s happening to me?!) and a few skin goodies as well (mostly cleansers and a few sheet masks.

There’s so much I don’t want to bog you guys down with the longest post in history so I’ll break it up over the next couple of days, ending with my Kiko Milano haul from tonight–it’s a small haul this time but I’m not nearly done with my local Kiko Milano location so that’ll probably be changing as time goes on ;)

Let’s get into the lipstick love; here are are the lipsticks I’ve purchased over the last month or so. I know, I know; only a month, but don’t judge me. When you scroll through the pictures you’l understand why I had to give these beauties a home! You can find all of these lip colors at your local drugstore. Note: IMAN Cosmetics is exclusively carried in Walgreens stores; also Milani Cosmetics is hard to find but I always find them at Walgreens as well.

And remember, if you buy something at Walgreens and don’t love it, they have a great return policy. Let’s be mindful not to abuse it though; do your research before buying!

Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Color in (960) Tangy Tulip, $7.49

maybelline_960tangytulip001

 

I love this bright pop of color  for spring and summer! Moisturizing and applies pretty evenly.

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in (20) Uptown Mauve, $5.99; available at your local Walgreens 

milani color statement lipstick-uptown mauve

 

This is a strong mauve, but it’s very wearable and uber pretty. If done right (clean, neutral eyes, very little natural colored blush) you can rock this in the office.

IMAN Luxury Moisturizing Lipstick in (028) Scandalous; $10.00; available at your local Walgreens 

iman luxury moisturizing lipstck -scandalous

This is a great red; especially for medium to deeper skin tones. I really like this color and I’m loving a red lip, it’s a bit bright so apply and wear with caution, but once you hit the door, wear with CONFIDENCE.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color in (655) Daringly Nude; $5

maybelline color sensational creamy matte lip color-daringly nude

 

I saw this in a monthly mag and this color looked much darker in print. I picked it up and thought I was set with my perfect nude. Unfortunately, this color is much too light for me to wear alone and not look a bit ashy; BUT it’s great for layering underneath and mixing to create your own color to fit whatever mood you’re in. Just be sure to include a semi matte moisturize like original Burt’s Bees underneath so it doesn’t dry out your lips. Even though it’s a creamy matte, it’s still a matte.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color in (660) Touch of Spice; $5

maybelline color sensational creamy matte-touch of spice

Since “Daringly Nude” didn’t quite work out the way I hoped, I tried again (you know, if at first you don’t succeed and what not). I’m glad I did because I found this beautiful, understated brownish pink nude. This is another great pick for the office ladies. Can’t go wrong with this one at all. It’s pink enough to warm up your face, but brown enough to communicate that you mean business. Make them READ YOUR LIPS. ;)

Maybelline Color Sensational Lipcolor, The Vivids Collection(in 880) Electric Orange; $5

Maybelline Color Sensational Vivids Collection- Electric Orange

I purchased this neon stunner before Tangy Tulip–so let’s call this one the gateway drug. Ha! It’s not as dark or creamy as Tangy Tulip, but it’s perfect for a quick wash of warm weather color. Even if there is still snow on the ground here in New England and it’s raining tonight. It’s especially fun for a girls night out.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick, Creme Formula in (740) Certainly Red; $6

Revlon Super Lustrous Creme Lipstick -Certainly Red

No, you’re not imagining things. Like I said, I’m having a red lip moment. It’ll probably last the rest of my life. Apologies in advance. This color is a classic, gets-you-noticed-for-all-the-right-reasons red. Not too dark, but also not too bright, this color is as versatile as you. Great for the office, nights out, dates, or even the occasional at home spa day–what? you don’t put a bit of lipstick on while you’re in the house pampering. That’s just me? Oh. Well…I’m cool being different :)

There’s my rundown of lipsticks that I’m loving as we move closer and closer to warmer weather and bright, sunny days. What about you? Got any faves? Share them in the comments below.

Well lovelies, it’s been fun, but this beauty chick has got STACKS of homework to tend to. Let’s make a date for tomorrow around this time, and we’ll chat about my impromptu trip to Kiko Milano and the cool Origins serum samples that I picked up on the way. Yes, I know: I’m obsessed. But like the talented and soulful Nikka Costa says: “everybody got their something.”

Missed you guys. Glad we got a chance to catch up.

Talk soon. xo.

Layla

Leave a Reply

