(At Home) Spa Sunday: Formula 10.0.6 Masks

(At Home) Spa Sunday: Formula 10.0.6 Masks

Happy Sunday!

I love/hate Sundays. For me, Sundays feel more relaxed than Saturdays. I can actually enjoy most Sundays because I’m not running errands or cleaning, I’m just…existing. I typically do skin treatments, and other self-care rituals on Sundays.

Usually, I make a Target run on Saturdays for groceries, but I almost always pass by the beauty section (because, obviously), especially the travel size offerings. There is always a product or two in miniature size that I haven’t seen anywhere else. A few weeks ago, those products were from the Formula 10.0.6 brand. I’ve heard of and seen products from this brand around YouTube and other blogs, and I’ve been curious but not obsessed, so I hadn’t picked up anything until now. I picked up two masks, each of them coming in at 1 fl. oz.–the perfect size for trying out a new product before committing.

Here are my thoughts:

Formula 10.0.6 Pores Be Pure Skin-Clarifying Mud Mask, $2.99 (1fl.oz.), Target

formula 10.0.6 pore be pure
Formula 10.0.6 Pores Be Pure, Skin-Clarifying Mud Mask

I love a good mud or clay mask, especially because of my combination skin and how tricky it can be to manage. After using a mud or clay mask, my skin feels like it’s been deeply cleaned and rid of all the environmental gunk that we all encounter on a daily basis.

Unfortunately, this mud mask didn’t make me feel that way. My skin felt clean, but not deeply. After, applying a thin layer (as directed) and leaving it on for 15 minutes (the maximum time recommended), my skin instead felt moisturized–not bad, but not at all what I was expecting, am used to, and have grown to like. And for my sensitive skin friends, you’ll want to know that within the first few minutes after application I experienced a bit of tingling, which the packaging says is normal, but as the minutes passed, the sensation decreased until it went away completely.

I did love the faintly, tropical/fruity fragrance. It’s pleasant, and not at all overbearing.

Since you are directed to apply such a thin layer, the removal is very easy, all you need is a few, quick swipes of a drenched washcloth and you’re good to go.

Bottom-line: It’s okay. I won’t be purchasing a full size of this product though.

Formula 10.0.6 Get Your Glow On Skin-Brightening Peel Mask, $2.99 (1 fl.oz.), Target

formula 10.0.6 get your glow on
Formula 10.0.6 Get Your Glow On Skin-Brightening Peel Mask

I tried this a few days after trying the mud mask. My skin gets dull very quickly, due to all of the toxic medicine that I take daily. I try to keep a glow through exfoliation and any brightening product that I think may pack (at least) a decent punch.

Applying this was easy enough. It goes on sticky, and a bit rubbery. It goes on clear so it’s a little tough to tell where you’ve already applied. It has a faint pineapple fragrance, and smells a bit more of chemicals compared to how the mud mask smelled like.

Again, I was directed to leave it on for 15 minutes, but since the entire mask hadn’t dried yet, I left it on for a little longer–about 5-7 additional minutes. Removing this mask is the fun part–it’s a peel-off! My skin didn’t look remarkably better after removing this mask, but there was some minimal improvement. For approximately 20 minutes of my time, I wish this mask had made my skin look more bright.

Bottom line: doing this mask couldn’t hurt, but if you’re attending a special-event or are just getting over a cold,  I would go for something with a little more bang for your hard-earned bucks.

Have you tried Formula 10.0.6? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Talk soon. xo-Layla

Leave a Reply

